©
GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU
2024

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14. [R. Dis. No. 197/2009.

[Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



# TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No.881

CHENNAI, TUESDAY, MARCH 5, 2024 Maasi 22, Sobakiruthu, Thiruvalluvar Aandu-2055

## Part II—Section 1

Notifications or Orders of specific character or of particular interest to the public issued by Secretariat Departments.

#### NOTIFICATIONS BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY SECRETARIAT

#### LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY SECRETARIAT

VACANCY OF SEAT IN TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY DUE TO DISQUALIFICATION UNDER ARTICLE 191(1)(e) OF THE CONSTITUTION OF INDIA READ WITH SECTION 8 OF THE REPRESENTATION OF PEOPLE ACT, 1951.

[Letter No. 15/2024-4, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Secretariat (Bills-III), 5th March 2024, Maasi 22, Sobakiruthu, Thiruvalluvar Aandu-2055]

### No. II(1)/LAS/4(0)/2024.

"Whereas, consequent upon his conviction by the High Court of Madras in Crl. A.No. 53 of 2017, Dr. K. Ponmudy, Member of the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly representing 76. Tirukkoyilur Assembly Constituency of Villupuram District stands disqualified from the membership of the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from the date of his conviction *i.e.*, 19th December 2023 in terms of the provisions of sub-clause (e) of Clause (1) of Article 191 of the Constitution of India read with section 8 of the Representation of the people Act, 1951; (Central Act 43 of 1951).

2. Now, therefore, I, **M. APPAVU**, Speaker of the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly, for the reasons stated above, hereby declare that in accordance with sub-clause (a) of Clause (3) of Article 190 of the Constitution of India, the seat of Dr. K. Ponmudy, Member of the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly representing 76. Tirukkoyilur Assembly Constituency shall be deemed to have become vacant from the date of his conviction, *i.e.*, the 19th day of December, 2023.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 5th March 2024. **M. APPAVU,**Speaker,
Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly.

K. SRINIVASAN, Principal Secretary, Legislative Assembly Secretariat".