©
GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU
2024

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14 [R. Dis. No. 197/2009.

[Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 124]

CHENNAI, WEDNESDAY, MARCH 20, 2024 Panguni 7, Sobakiruthu, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2055

Part V—Section 4

Notification by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES OF BYE-ELECTION TO TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 233.VILAVANCODE ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL TO FILL A VACANCY CAUSED BY THE RESIGNATION OF A MEMBER

No. SRO G-9/2024.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 20th March, 2024 [30 Phalguna, 1945 (Saka)] is published:

No. 100/TN-LA/1/2024:- **WHEREAS**, the seat of Tmt. S. Vijayadharani, in the Legislative Assembly of the Tamil Nadu State, elected from 233- Vilavancode Assembly Constituency in Kanniyakumari District, has become vacant on 24-02-2024, by reason of resignation; **and**

- 2. WHEREAS, a bye-election is to be held for the purpose of filling the vacancy so caused; and
- 3. **NOW, THEREFORE,** in pursuance of sub-section (1) of section 150, and sections 30 and 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India hereby:-
- (A) Calls upon the said 233- Vilavancode Assembly Constituency in the State of Tamil Nadu to elect, before the 06-06-2024 (Thursday) and in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, a person, for the purpose of filling the said vacancy in the Legislative Assembly of the State; and
 - (B) Appoints, with respect to the said election,-
 - (a) the 27-03-2024 (Wednesday), as the last date for making nominations;
 - (b) the 28-03-2024 (Thursday), as the date for scrutiny of nominations;
 - (c) the 30-03-2024 (Saturday), as the last date for withdrawal of candidatures;
 - (d) the 19-04-2024 (Friday), as the date, on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken;
 - (e) the 06-06-2024 (Thursday), as the date before which the election shall be completed, and

(C) Fixes the hours from 07:00 A.M. to 06:00 P.M. as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken on the date specified above, for the election.

(By Order)

MALAY MALLICK,
Principal Secretary,
Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 20th March 2024. SATYABRATA SAHOO, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.