

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14 [R. Dis. No. 197/2009.

[Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 116]

CHENNAI, SATURDAY, MARCH 16, 2024 Panguni 3, Sobakiruthu, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2055

Part V—Section 4

Notification by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION SYMBOLS (RESERVATION & ALLOTMENT) ORDER, 1968

No. SRO G-4/2024

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 11th March, 2024 [21 Phalguna, 1945 (Saka)] is republished:-

No. 56/24/2024/PPS-II: In exercise of the powers conferred by Article 324 of the Constitution of India read with section 29A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, section 21 of the General Clauses Act, 1897, Rules 5 and 10 of the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, and all other powers enabling the Commission in this behalf, the Election Commission of India hereby makes the following Order to further amend the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968, namely: -

1. Short Title and Commencement

- i This Order shall be called the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) (Amendment) Order, 2024.
- ii. It shall come into force with immediate effect.

Amendment of Paragraph- 1 (2)

The existing Paragraph-1 (2) of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968 shall be substituted as follows: -

1(2) It extends to the whole of India and applies in relation to elections in all Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies.

3. Amendment of Paragraph- 2 (1) (i)

The existing Paragraph-2 (1) (i) of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968 shall be substituted as follows: -

2(1) (i) "State" includes the National Capital Territory of Delhi, the Union Territory of Puducherry and the Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir;

2

4. Amendment of Paragraph- 2 (1) (jj)

The existing Paragraph-2 (1) (jj) of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968 shall be substituted as follows: -

2 (1) (jj) "Union Territory" means Union Territory other than the National Capital Territory of Delhi, the Union Territory of Puducherry and the Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir;

(By Order)

JAYDEB LAHIRI, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 16th March, 2024. SATYABRATA SAHOO, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.