[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14 [R. Dis. No. 197/2009.

[Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 421

CHENNAI, TUESDAY, JANUARY 31, 2023 Thai 17, Subakiruthu, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2054

Part V—Section 4

Notification by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES OF BYE-ELECTION TO TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 98. ERODE (EAST) ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL TO FILL A VACANCY CAUSED BY THE DEATH OF A MEMBER

No. SRO G-3/2023.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 31st January, 2023 [11 Magha, 1944 (Saka)] is published:

No.100/TN-LA/1/2023:- Whereas, the seat of Thiru E. Thirumahan Everaa, in the Legislative Assembly of the Tamil Nadu State, elected from 98-Erode (East) Assembly Constituency has become vacant on 04-01-2023, by reason of his death; and

- 2. Whereas, a bye-election is to be held for the purpose of filling the vacancy so caused; and
- 3. **Now, therefore,** in pursuance of sub-section (1) of section 150, and sections 30 and 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India hereby:-
- **(A) Calls** upon the said 98-Erode (East)Assembly Constituency in the State of Tamil Nadu to elect, before the 04-03-2023 (Saturday) and in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, a person, for the purpose of filling the said vacancy in the Legislative Assembly of the State; and
 - (B) Appoints, with respect to the said election,-
 - (a) the 07-02-2023 (Tuesday), as the last date for making nominations;
 - (b) the 08-02-2023 (Wednesday), as the date for scrutiny of nominations;
 - (c) the 10-02-2023 (Friday), as the last date for withdrawal of candidatures;

V-4 Ex. (42) [1]

- (d) the 27-02-2023 (Monday), as the date, on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken;
- (e) the 04-03-2023 (Saturday), as the date before which the election shall be completed, and
- **(C)** Fixes the hours from 07:00 AM to 06:00 PM as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken on the date specified above for the election.

(By Order)

MALAY MALLICK, Principal Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 31st January 2023. SATYABRATA SAHOO, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.