(C)**GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU** 2023

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14. [R. Dis. No. 197/2009.

[Price: Rs. 1.60 Paise.



# TAMIL NADU **GOVERNMENT GAZETTE**

**EXTRAORDINARY** PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 261]

CHENNAI, TUESDAY, JULY 11, 2023 Aani 26, Sobakiruthu, Thiruvalluvar Aandu-2054

## Part II—Section 2

Notifications or Orders of interest to a Section of the public issued by Secretariat Departments.

### NOTIFICATIONS BY GOVERNMENT

#### HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT

CONSTITUTION OF PERMANENT MEDICAL BOARD FOR EXAMINING MEDICAL TERMINATION OF PREGNANCY (AMENDMENT) ACT, 2021, UNDER THE MEDICAL TERMINATION OF PREGNANCY ACT, 1971.

> [G.O.Ms. No.223, Health and Family Welfare (R2), 11th July 2023, Aani 26. Sobakiruthu, Thiruvalluvar Aandu-2054.]

### No. II(2)/HFW/647(h)/2023.

WHEREAS, as per sub-section (2C) of section 3 of the Medical Termination of Pregnancy Act, 1971 (Central Act 34 of 1971), every State Government shall constitute a Medical Board for the purposes of that Act,

AND WHEREAS, sub-rule (b) of rule 3A of the Medical Termination of Pregnancy Rules, 2003 requires the Medical Board to examine the woman and her reports so as to provide its opinion with regard to termination of pregnancy or rejection of request for termination within three days from the date of receipt of such request and to ensure safe termination procedure along with appropriate counselling:

AND WHEREAS, it is considered that a single Medical Board for the entire State, as contemplated in sub-section (2C) of section 3 of the said Act could not achieve the object of the said Rules and it has therefore been decided to constitute Medical Boards in each of the 32 Government Medical Colleges across the State:

NOW THEREFORE, in exercise of the powers conferred by sub- section (2C) and clause (d) of sub-section (2D) of section 3 of the Medical Termination of Pregnancy Act. 1971 (Central Act 34 of 1971), the Governor of Tamil Nadu hereby constitutes a Medical Board in each of the Government Medical College Hospital specified in column (2) of the Table below, for the District specified in the corresponding entry in column (3) thereof.

THE TABLE

SI. No.	Government Medical College Hospital	District
1.	Chennai Rajiv Gandhi Hospital	Chennai
2.	Madurai Rajaji Hospital	Madurai

SI. No.	Government Medical College Hospital	District
3.	Government Coimbatore Medical College and Hospital, Coimbatore	Coimbatore
4.	Government Dharmapuri Medical College and Hospital, Dharmapuri	Dharmapuri
5.	Government Chengalpattu Medical College and Hospital, Chengalpattu	Kancheepuram and Chengalpattu
6.	Government Kanyakumari Medical College and Hospital, Kanyakumari	Kanyakumari
7.	Government Karur Medical College and Hospital, Karur	Karur
8.	Government Pudukottai Medical College and Hospital, Pudukottai	Pudukottai
9.	Government Mohan Kumaramangalam Medical College and Hospital, Salem	Salem
10.	Government Sivagangai Medical College and Hospital, Sivagangai	Sivagangai
11.	Government Thanjavur Medical College and Hospital, Thanjavur	Thanjavur
12.	Government Theni Medical College and Hospital, Theni	Theni
13.	KAP Vishwanathan Government Medical College and Hospital, Tiruchirappalli	Tiruchirappalli
14.	Government Thiruvannamalai Medical College and Hospital, Thiruvannamalai	Thiruvannamalai
15.	Government Thiruvarur Medical College and Hospital, Thiruvarur	Thiruvarur
16.	Government Thirunelveli Medical College and Hospital, Thirunelveli	Thirunelveli and Tenkasi
17.	Government Thoothukudi Medical College and Hospital, Thoothukudi	Thoothukudi
18.	Government Vellore Medical College and Hospital, Vellore	Vellore, Tiruppathur and Ranipet
19.	Government Villupuram Medical College and Hospital, Villupuram	Villupuram
20.	Government Namakkal Medical College and Hospital, Namakkal	Namakkal
21.	Government Tiruppur Medical College and Hospital, Tiruppur	Tiruppur
22.	Government Tiruvallur Medical College and Hospital, Tiruvallur	Tiruvallur
23.	Government Ramanathapuram Medical College and Hospital, Ramanathapuram	Ramanathapuram
24.	Government Nagapattinam Medical College and Hospital, Nagapattinam	Nagapattinam and Mayiladuthurai
25.	Government Dindigul Medical College and Hospital, Dindigul	Dindigul
26.	Government Kallakurichi Medical College and Hospital, Kallakurichi	Kallakurichi
27.	Government Virudhunagar Medical College and Hospital, Virudhunagar	Virudhunagar

SI. No.	Government Medical College Hospital	District
28.	Government Krishnagiri Medical College and Hospital, Krishnagiri	Krishnagiri
29.	Government The Nilgiris Medical College and Hospital, The Nilgiris	The Nilgiris
30.	Government Ariyalur Medical College and Hospital, Ariyalur	Ariyalur & Perambalur
31.	Government Erode Medical College and Hospital, Perundurai	Erode
32.	Government Cuddalore Medical College and Hospital, Chidambaram	Cuddalore

AND each Medical Board so constituted, shall consist of the following members, namely:-

1.	Dean/Medical Superintendent / Resident Medical Officer of the Tertiary Hospital
2.	Head of the Department / Associate Professor, Obstetrics and Gynaecology Department of the Tertiary Hospital
3.	Head of the Department / Associate Professor, Paediatrics / Neonatology Department of the Tertiary Hospital
4.	Head of the Department / Associate Professor, Radiology / Sonlogy Department of the Tertiary Hospital
5.	Head of the Department / Associate Professor, Cardiology / Paediatric Cardiology Department of the Tertiary Hospital
6.	Head of the Department / Associate Professor, Neurology / Paediatric Neurology, Department of the Tertiary Hospital
7.	Psychiatrist Counsellor / Psychologist of the Tertiary Hospital
8.	Medical Superintendent / Resident Medical Officer of the Tertiary Hospital
9.	Associate Professor / Professor, Foetal Medicine / Genetics of the Tertiary Hospital (if available)

GAGANDEEP SINGH BEDI, Principal Secretary to Government.