

TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No.398]

CHENNAI, FRIDAY, DECEMBER 15, 2017 Karthigai 29, Hevilambi, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2048

Part V—Section 4

Direction by the Election Commission of India

Direction by the Election Commission of India

ELECTION COMMISSION'S DIRECTION SPECIFYING THAT THE VOTES AT THE CURRENT BYE-ELECTION TO TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 11. DR. RADHAKRISHNAN NAGAR ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY SHALL BE GIVEN AND RECORDED BY MEANS OF ELECTRONIC VOTING MACHINES WITH VOTER VERIFIABLE PAPER AUDIT TRAIN SYSTEM (V VPAT)

No. SRO G-38/2017.

The following Direction of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 14th December, 2017 is published:-

No.576/3/EVM/ECI/LET/FUNC/JUD/SDR/VOL-II/2017: - Whereas, Section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, provides that the giving and recording of votes by Voting Machines in such manner as may be prescribed, may be adopted in such constituency or constituencies as the Election Commission of India may, having regard to the circumstances of each case, specify; and

2. Whereas, as per the proviso to rule 49A of the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, a Printer with a drop box of such design, as may be approved by the Election Commission of India, may also be attached to voting machine for printing a paper trail of the vote, in such constituency or constituencies or parts thereof as the Election Commission of India may direct; and

3. Whereas, the Commission has considered the circumstances in 12-Pakke-Kasang (ST) and 28-Likabali (ST) Assembly Constituencies in Arunachal Pradesh, 11-Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu, 207- Sikandra Assembly Constituency in Uttar Pradesh and 226-Sabang Assembly Constituency in West Bengal in which bye-elections is currently in progress, and is satisfied that sufficient number of Electronic Voting Machines and Printers for printing Paper Trail so as to same as Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) are available for taking the poll in the above mentioned Assembly Constituencies, the polling personnel are well trained in efficient handling of the Electronic Voting Machines and Printers for Paper Trail (hereafter referred to as 'VVPAT Printers') and the electors are also fully conversant with the operation of the Electronic Voting Machines and the said Printers;

4. Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India, in exercise of its powers under the said Section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, and rule 49A of the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, hereby specifies 12-Pakke-Kasang (ST) and 28-Likabali (ST) Assembly Constituencies in Arunachal Pradesh, 11-Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu, 207-Sikandra Assembly Constituencies in which the votes at the current bye-elections to the State Legislative Assemblies of Arunachal Pradesh, Tamil Nadu,

Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal notified on 27-11-2017 (Monday), shall be given and recorded by means of Electronic Voting Machines and the said VVPAT printers in the manner prescribed, under the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, and the supplementary instructions issued by the Commission from time to time on the subject.

5. The Commission also hereby approves the design of the Electronic Voting Machine and the Printer with the drop box (the VVPAT Printers) as developed by the Bharat Electronics Ltd., Bangalore and Electronics Corporation of India Ltd., Hyderabad, which shall be attached to the said voting machines, to be used for the giving and recording of votes in the above said Assembly Constituencies.

(By Order)

N.T. BHUTIA, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 15th December, 2017. RAJESH LAKHONI, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.