[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No.395]

CHENNAI, FRIDAY, DECEMBER 15, 2017 Karthigai 29, Hevilambi, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2048

Part V—Section 4

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

ELECTION COMMISSION'S NOTIFICATION REGARDING EXIT POLL AT THE BYE-ELECTION TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 11. Dr. RADHAKRISHNAN NAGAR ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY.

No. SRO G-36/2017.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 14th December, 2017 is published:-

- **No. 576/EXIT/ECI/LET/FUNC/JUD/SDR/VOL II/2017:**—Whereas, the schedule for the Bye-Elections to the Legislative Assemblies in the States of Arunachal Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh & West Bengal has been announced by the Commission *vide* Press Note No. ECI/PN/89/2017, dated 24th November, 2017.
- 2. And, whereas, as per the provisions of Section 126A of the R.P. Act, 1951, there shall be restrictions on conduct of any Exit Poll and publication and dissemination of result of such Exit Poll during such period as may be notified by the Election Commission in this regard;
- 3. Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers under sub-section (1) of Section 126A of the R.P. Act, 1951, the Election Commission, having regard to the provisions of sub-section (2)(b) of the said Section, hereby notifies the period between **7.00 A.M. and 5.30 P.M.** on 21-12-2017 (Thursday), as the period during which conducting any exit poll and publishing or publicizing by means of the print or electronic media or dissemination in any other manner whatsoever, the result of any Exit Poll in connection with the said bye-elections announced *vide* the Commission's Press Note No. ECI/PN/89/2017, dated 24-11-2017, 2017 from 12-Pakke- Kasang (ST) and 28-Likabali (ST) Assembly Constituencies in Arunachal Pradesh, 11-Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu, 207-Sikandra Assembly Constituency in Uttar Pradesh and 226-Sabang Assembly Constituency in West Bengal shall be prohibited.

Ex.V-4 (395) [1]

4. It is further clarified that under Section 126(1)(b) of the R.P. Act, 1951, displaying any election matter including results of any Opinion Poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours ending with the hours fixed for conclusion of poll for the aforesaid bye-elections.

(By Order)

N.T. BHUTIA,
Secretary,
Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 15th December, 2017. RAJESH LAKHONI, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.