[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 1.60 Paise.



# TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

# **EXTRAORDINARY**

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 79]

CHENNAI, THURSDAY, MARCH 24, 2016 Panguni 11, Manmadha, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2047

# Part V—Section 4

**Notifications by the Election Commission of India** 

#### DIRECTION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

### **DIRECTION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA**

ELECTION COMMISSION'S DIRECTION SPECIFYING THAT THE VOTES AT THE CURRENT GENERAL ELECTIONS TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2016 SHALL BE GIVEN AND RECORDED BY MEANS OF ELECTRONIC VOTING MACHINES WITH VOTER VERIFIABLE PAPER AUDIT TRAIL SYSTEM (VVPAT).

### No. SRO G-12/2016.

The following Direction of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 21st March, 2016 is published:—

No. 576/3/VVPAT/2016/SDR-Vol.I:—Whereas, Section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, provides that the giving and recording of votes by Voting Machines in such manner as may be prescribed, may be adopted in such constituency or constituencies as the Election Commission of India may, having regard to the circumstances of each case specify; and

- 2. Whereas, as per the proviso to rule 49A of the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, a printer with a drop box of such design, as may be approved by the Election Cernmission of India, may also be attached to a voting machine for printing a paper trail of the vote, in such constituency or constituencies or parts thereof as the Election Commission of India may direct: and
- 3. Whereas, the Election Commission of India has, *vide* its notification No. 576/3/EVM/2016/SDR- Vol.I dated 15th March, 2016, already specified under the said section 61A of the Representation of the People Act 1951, all the Assembly Constituencies of States of Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and Puducherry as the constituencies in which the votes shall be given and recorded by means of voting machines at the poll to be taken for the current general elections:

V-4 Ex. (79) [1]

- 4. Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India, in exercise of its powers under the abovementioned proviso to rule 49A of the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, hereby-
- (i) specifies 10 Assembly Constituencies of Assam, 12 Assembly Constituencies of Kerala, 17 Assembly Constituencies of Tamil Nadu, 22 Assembly Constituencies of West Bengal and 3 Assembly Constituencies of Puducherry as specified in the Annexure hereto as the Constituencies in which a printer with a drop box shall be attached to every voting machine to be used for the giving and recording of votes at the current general elections to the Assam. Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and Puducherry Legislative Assemblies;
- (ii) approves the design of the printer with the drop box as developed by the Bharat Electronics Ltd., Bangalore and Electronics Corporation of India Ltd., Hyderabad, as the design for the printer which shall be attached to the said voting machines to be used for the giving and recording of votes in the above said Assembly Constituencies.

(By order)

ANUJ JAIPURIAR, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 24th March, 2016. RAJESH LAKHONI, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

# ANNEXURE Deployment of VVPATs in upcoming Elections

SI. No.	Name of the State	Make of VVPAT to be used	Selected ACs			
			Name of the AC	No. of PS	Req. of VVPAT (including reserve)	
1	West Bengal	ECIL	Cooch Behar Dakshin	253	316	
			Alipurduar	273	341	
			Jalpaiguri (SC)	280	380	
			Siliguri	238	298	
			Raiganj	194	243	
			Balurghat	188	235	
			Englishbazar	251	314	
			Murshidabad	272	340	
			Krishnanagar	268	335	
			Barasat	283	354	
			Jadavpur	340	425	

# ANNEXURE-Cont.

# Deployment of VVPATs in upcoming Elections

SI. No.	Name of the State	Make of VVPAT to be used	Selected ACs		
			Name of the AC	No. of PS	Req. of VVPAT (including reserve)
			Ballygunge	291	364
			Chowrangee	222	278
			Howrahmadhya	308	385
			Chandannagore	258	323
			Tamluk	287	359
			Medinipur	296	370
			Purulia	266	333
			Bankura	303	379
			Bardhmah	294	368
			Behala Paschim	341	426
			Suri	287	359
		Total		5993	7495
2	Kerala	ECIL	Vattiyoorkavu	141	176
			Nemom	148	185
			Kollam	154	193
			Alappuzha	153	191
			Kottayam	158	198
			Eranakulam	122	153
			Thrikkakara	147	184
			Thrissur	149	186
			Palakkad	140	175
			Malappuram	154	193
			Kozhikode North	142	178
			Kannur (Town area only)	42	53
		Total		1650	2065
3	Tamil Nadu	BEL	Anna Nagar	255	319
			Vellore	244	305
			Krishnagiri	297	371
			Salem (North)	284	355
			Erode (West)	285	356
			Tiruppur (North)	327	409
			Coimbattore (North)	285	356
			Dindigul	268	335
			Tiruchirappalli(West)	271	339
			Cuddalore	228	285

## ANNEXURE-Cont.

## Deployment of VVPATs in upcoming Elections

SI. No.	Name of the State	Make of VVPAT to be used	Selected ACs		
			Name of the AC	No. of PS	Req. of VVPAT (including reserve)
			Thanjavur	276	345
			Kancheepuram	316	395
			Villupuram	281	351
			Madurai (East)	302	378
			Thoothukudi	271	339
			Tirunelveli	305	381
			Kanniyakumari	300	375
		Total		4795	5994
4	Puducherry	BEL	15-Ouppalam	24	30
			16-Orieampeth	23	29
			27-Karaikal South	27	34
		Total		74	93
5	Assam	BEL	Silchar	232	290
			Dhubri	192	240
			Bongaigaon	222	278
			Goalpara East	222	278
			Jalukbari	212	265
			Dispur	375	469
			Gauhati East	240	300
			Gauhati West	285	356
			Tezpur	200	250
			Jorhat	191	239
		Total		2371	2965

(By order)

ANUJ JAIPURIAR, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 24th March, 2016. RAJESH LAKHONI, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.