[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14 [R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 77]

CHENNAI, MONDAY, MARCH 21, 2016 Panguni 8, Manmadha, Thiruvalluvar Aandu-2047

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

DIRECTION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S DIRECTION SPECIFYING THAT THE VOTES AT THE CURRENT GENERAL ELECTIONS TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2016 SHALL BE GIVEN AND RECORDED BY MEANS OF ELECTRONIC VOTING MACHINES.

No. SRO G-10/2016.

The following Direction of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 15th March, 2016 is published:—

No. 576/3/EVM/20I6/SDR-Vol.I:---Whereas, Section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, provides that the giving and recording of votes by Voting Machines in such manner as may be prescribed, may be adopted in such constituencies as the Election Commission of India may, having regard to the circumstances of each case specify; and

2. Whereas, the Commission has considered the circumstances in all the 126 Assembly Constituencies of Assam, 140 Assembly Constituencies of Kerala, 234 Assembly Constituencies of Tamil Nadu, 294 Assembly Constituencies of West Bengal and 30 Assembly Constituencies of Puducherry, and is satisfied that sufficient number of Electronic Voting Machines are available for taking the poll in the abovementioned Assembly Constituencies, the polling personnel are well trained in efficient handling of the Electronic Voting Machines; Machines and the electors are also fully conversant with the operation of the Electronic Voting Machines;

3. Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India hereby specifies all the 126 Assembly Constituencies of Assam, 140 Assembly Constituencies of Kerala, 234 Assembly Constituencies of Tamil Nadu, 294 Assembly Constituencies of West Bengal and 30 Assembly Constituencies of Puducherry, as the constituencies in which the votes at the current General Elections to the Legislative Assemblies of the said

States and UT, notified/to be notified in Assam on 11-03-2016 & 15-03-2016, in West Bengal on 11-03-2016, 14-03-2016, 22-03-2016, 28-03-2016, 01-04-2016, 04-04-2016 & 11-04-2016 and in Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry on 22-04-2016, shall be given and recorded by means of Electronic Voting Machines in the manner prescribed under the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, and the supplementary instructions issued by the Commission from time to time on the subject.

(By order)

ANUJ JAIPURIAR, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 21st March, 2016. RAJESH LAKHONI, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

2