[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14 [R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 279]

CHENNAI, WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 23, 2016 Karthigai 8, Thunmugi, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2047

Part V-Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

NAMES OF MEMBERS NOTIFIED IN RESPECT OF 134. ARAVAKURICHI AND 174.THANJAVUR ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCIES AS NEWLY ELECTED.

No. SRO G-43/2016.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, New Delhi, dated: 22nd November, 2016 is published:-

No.308/TN-LA/2016:—Whereas, in pursuance of Notification No. SRO D-1/2016, issued by the Governor of the State of Tamil Nadu on 22nd April, 2016, under sub-section (2) of the Section 15 of Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), a General Election was called for the purpose of constituting a new Legislative Assembly for the State of Tamil Nadu from all assembly constituencies; and

Whereas, the Governor of the State was pleased to rescind his aforesaid notification, partially in respect of 134-Aravakurichi & 174-Thanjavur Assembly Constituencies, on the recommendation of the Commission after the Commission received reports of distribution of cash and gifts by political parties and contesting candidates in these two constituencies, and deferred the conduct of fresh elections from the said two constituencies till the atmosphere becomes conducive to holding of free and fair election; and

Whereas, the election was held as scheduled from all the Assembly Constituencies, except 134-Aravakurichi & 174-Thanjavur Assembly Constituencies, and the results of the elections in all Assembly Constituencies in the said General Election, except aforesaid two Assembly Constituencies, were declared by the Returning Officers concerned and the Commission notified the names of members elected from those constituencies, along with their party affiliation, if any, in the SCHEDULE to the notification *vide* its notification No.308/TN-LA/2016, dated: 21st May, 2016; and

Whereas, the Commission subsequently assessed the situation prevailing in the two constituencies and found appropriate to hold the pending elections from two constituencies mentioned above and accordingly, recommended to the Governor of the State to call upon the said two constituencies on 26th October, 2016 to elect members from the said two constituencies; and

Whereas, under sub-section (2) of Section 15 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, the Governor of the State of Tamil Nadu was pleased to call upon the said two ACs to elect the members, by his notification No. SRO D-7/2016, dated 26th October, 2016 and the Commission also issued its notification under Section 30 and 56 of the said Act, published in the state gazette *vide* No. SRO G-31/2016, dated 26th October, 2016, appointing the schedule of election, *inter alia,* 19th November, 2016 as date of poll; and

Whereas, the poll was taken as scheduled and the results of the election from the said two constituencies have now been declared by the respective Returning Officers;

Now, therefore, in pursuance of Section 73 of the said Act, the Commission, hereby notifies the names of members elected from the said two constituencies, referred to above, along with their party affiliations, as under:

No. and Name of Assembly Constituency	Name of Elected Member (Thiru)	Party affiliation
134-Aravakurichi	Senthilbalaji, V.	All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
174-Thanjavur	Rengasamy, M.	All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam

(By Order)

MALAY MALLICK, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 23rd November, 2016. RAJESH LAKHONI, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

2