

# TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 269]

CHENNAI, MONDAY, NOVEMBER 14, 2016 Aippasi 29, Thunmugi, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2047

## Part V-Section 4

## Notifications by the Election Commission of India

### DIRECTION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S DIRECTION SPECIFYING THAT THE VOTES AT THE GENERAL ELECTIONS TO 134. ARAVAKURICHI AND 174. THANJAVUR ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCIES SHALL BE GIVEN AND RECORDED BY MEANS OF ELECTRONIC VOTING MACHINES.

#### No. SRO G-38/2016.

The following Direction of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 7th November 2016 is published:-

No. 576/3/EVM/2016/SDR- Vol.I:- Whereas, Section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, provides that the giving and recording of votes by Voting Machines in such manner as may be prescribed, may be adopted in such constituencies as the Election Commission of India may, having regard to the circumstances of each case specify; and

2. Whereas, the Commission has considered the circumstances in 134-Aravakurichi and 174-Thanjavur Assembly Constituencies in the State of Tamil Nadu and is satisfied that sufficient number of Electronic Voting Machines are available for taking the poll in the abovementioned Assembly Constituencies, the polling personnel are well trained in efficient handling of the Electronic Voting Machines and the electors are also fully conversant with the operation of the Electronic Voting Machines;

3. Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India hereby specifies 134-Aravakurichi and 174-Thanjavur Assembly Constituencies in the State of Tamil Nadu, as the Constituencies where votes at the general election to the Legislative Assembly, notified on 26-10-2016 (Wednesday), shall be given and recorded by means of Electronic Voting Machines in the manner prescribed under the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, and the supplementary instructions issued by the Commission from time to time on the subject.

(By Order)

K.F. WILFRED, Principal Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 14th November, 2016. RAJESH LAKHONI, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

PRINTED AND PUBLISHED BY THE DIRECTOR OF STATIONERY AND PRINTING, CHENNAI ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU