[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



# TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

### **EXTRAORDINARY**

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 268]

CHENNAI, MONDAY, NOVEMBER 14, 2016 Aippasi 29, Thunmugi, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2047

## Part V—Section 4

#### **Notifications by the Election Commission of India**

#### NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S NOTIFICATION REGARDING EXIT POLL AT THE BYE-ELECTION TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 195.THIRUPARANKUNDRAM ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY.

#### No. SRO G-37/2016.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 3rd November, 2016 [12 Kartika, Saka (1938)] is published:-

No.576/EXIT/2016/SDR/Vol. I:- Whereas, the Schedule for the Bye-Elections to the House of the People and to Legislative Assemblies of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Tripura & Puducherry were announced by the Commission *vide* Press Note No. ECI/PN/58/2016, dated 17th October, 2016;

- 2. And whereas, as per the provisions of Section 126A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, there shall be restrictions on conduct of any exit poll and publication and dissemination of result of such exit poll during such period as may be notified by the Election Commission in this regard;
- 3. Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers under sub-section (1) of Section 126A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, the Election Commission, having regard to the provisions of sub-section (2)(b) of the said Section, hereby notifies the period between **7.00 A.M.** and **5.30 P.M.** on 19-11-2016 (Saturday), as the period during which conducting any exit poll and publishing or publicizing by means of the print or electronic media or dissemination in any other manner whatsoever, the result of any exit poll in connection with the said bye-elections announced *vide* the Commission's Press Note No. ECI/PN/58/2016, dated 17th October, 2016 from **14-Lakhimpur Parliamentary Constituency & 20-Baithalangso (ST) Assembly Constituency in Assam, 45-Hayuliang (ST) Assembly Constituency in Arunachal Pradesh, 12-Shahdol (ST) Parliamentary Constituency & 179-Nepanagar (ST) Assembly Constituency in Madhya Pradesh, 1-Coochbehar (SC) & 30-Tamluk Parliamentary Constituencies in West Bengal, 263-Monteswar Assembly Constituency in West Bengal, 195-Thiruparankundram Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu, 4-Barjala & 25-Khowai Assembly Constituencies in Tripura and 17-Nellithope Assembly Constituency in Puducherry, shall be prohibited.**

V-4 Ex. (268)

#### 2 TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY

4. It is further clarified that under Section 126(1)(b) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the

48 hours ending with the hours fixed for conclusion of poll for the aforesaid bye-elections.

(By Order)

K.F. WILFRED, Principal Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 14th November, 2016. RAJESH LAKHONI, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.