©
GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU
2016

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



# TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

**EXTRAORDINARY** 

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 262]

CHENNAI, THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 3, 2016 Aippasi 18, Thunmugi, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2047

### Part II—Section 1

Notifications or Orders of specific character or of particular interest to the public issued by Secretariat Departments.

#### NOTIFICATIONS BY GOVERNMENT

## PUBLIC DEPARTMENT (Miscellaneous)

DECLARATION OF SATURDAY 19TH NOVEMBER 2016 AS A PUBLIC HOLIDAY IN CONNECTION WITH THE GENERAL ELECTION/BYE-ELECTION TO TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY UNDER THE NEGOTIABLE INSTRUMENTS ACT.

[G.O. Ms. No. 883, Public (Miscellaneous), 3rd November 2016, lyppasi 18, Thunmugi, Thiruvalluvar Aandu-2047.]

#### No. II(1)/PUMIS/12(e)/2016.

Under the "Explanation" to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (Central Act XXVI of 1881) read with the Notification of the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs No. 20-25-26 Public-I, dated the 8th June 1957, the Governor of Tamil Nadu hereby declares Saturday, the 19th November 2016, the date on which the poll for the General Election to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 134-Aravakurichi and 174-Thanjavur Assembly Constituencies and Bye-Election to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 195-Thiruparankundram Assembly Constituency will take place, to be a public holiday for the areas comprised in the above Assembly Constituencies lying in Karur, Thanjavur and Madurai Districts respectively.

Further, all employees working in Karur, Thanjavur and Madurai Districts and the neighbouring Districts but registered as voters in 134-Aravakurichi, 174-Thanjavur and 195-Thiruparankundram Assembly Constituencies shall also be given a paid holiday on 19-11-2016.

All Government Offices including industrial establishments of the Government and Government controlled bodies and all the educational institutions throughout the areas comprised in 134-Aravakurichi, 174-Thanjavur and 195-Thiruparankundram Assembly Constituencies lying in Karur, Thanjavur and Madurai Districts respectively will remain closed on 19-11-2016.

P. RAMA MOHANA RAO, *Chief Secretary.*