

TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 254]

CHENNAI, WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 26, 2016 Aippasi 10, Thunmugi, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2047

Part V-Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES OF ELECTIONS AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL FOR 134.ARAVAKURICHI AND 174.THANJAVUR ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCIES IN THE STATE OF TAMIL NADU

No. SRO G-31/2016.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated: 26th October, 2016 [04 Kartika, 1938 (Saka)] is published:-

No. 464/TN-LA/2016: WHEREAS, the Governor of the State of Tamil Nadu has, by notification issued under sub-section (2) of Section 15 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951) and published in the official Gazette of the State on the 26th October, 2016, been pleased to call upon 134-Aravakurichi Assembly Constituency and 174-Thanjavur Assembly Constituency in the State, to elect members to the Legislative Assembly of the State, in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder;

Now, therefore, in pursuance of Sections 30 and 56 of the said Act, the Election Commission of India hereby-

(A) Appoints, with respect to the said election in 134-Aravakurichi and 174-Thanjavur Assembly Constituencies,-

- (a) the 2nd November, 2016 (Wednesday), as the last date for making nominations;
- (b) the 3rd November, 2016 (Thursday), as the date for the scrutiny of nominations;
- (c) the 5th November, 2016 (Saturday), as the date last date for the withdrawal of candidatures;
- (d) the 19th November, 2016 (Saturday), as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken; and
- (e) the 24th November, 2016 (Thursday), as the date before which the election shall be completed; and

(B) fixes the hours from 7.00 A.M. to 5.00 P.M., as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken on the date specified above, for the election.

(By Order)

MALAY MALLICK, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 26th October, 2016. RAJESH LAKHONI, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.