©
GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU
2016

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Rs. 1.60 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 182]

CHENNAI, WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 17, 2016 Aavani 1, Thunmugi, Thiruvalluvar Aandu-2047

Part VI—Section 2

Notifications or Orders of interest to a section of the public issued by Heads of Departments, etc.

NOTIFICATIONS BY HEADS OF DEPARTMENTS, ETC.

TAMIL NADU STATE ELECTION COMMISSION, CHENNAI.

[ELECTIONS - ORDINARY ELECTIONS TO URBAN LOCAL BODIES, 2011 - TIRUVARUR DISTRICT - CONTESTED CANDIDATES - FAILED TO LODGE ACCOUNTS OF ELECTION EXPENSES - DISQUALIFICATION ORDERS ISSUED - DECISION OVER THE BELATED SUBMISSION OF ACCOUNTS OF ELECTION EXPENSES OF THE TWELVE CANDIDATES - WITHHELD - SCRUTINY OF - ORDERS NOW ISSUED.]

(S.O. No.11/2016/TNSEC/ME-II)

No. VI(2)/102(a) /2016.

Read:

- 1. S.O. No.45/2011/TNSEC/ME1, dated, the 21st September 2011.
- 2. From the District Election Officer / District Collector, Tiruvarur District Lr.No.6578/2012/@.1(a) dated 14.2.2013 and Lr.No.1933/2013/@.1(a) dated11.9.2013.
- 3. This Commission's Statutory Order No.31/2013/TNSEC/ME-II dated 26.9.2013.
- 4. This Commission's Letter No. 165/2012/ME2, dated 26.9.2013, 12.11.2013, 20.11.2013, 11.2.2014 and 28.5.2014.
- 5. From the District Election Officer/District Collector, Tiruvarur District Lr.No.1933/2013/ஓ.1(ഖ) dated 19.11.2015.

ORDER

WHEREAS, the Tamil Nadu State Election Commission conducted ordinary elections to the urban local bodies during October 2011 as notified in the Statutory Order first read above;

2. Whereas, the District Election Officer/District Collector, Tiruvarur in his letters second read above, has reported that out of the 108 contested candidates, 9 contested candidates lodged their accounts of election expenses, 12 contested candidates lodged their accounts of election expenses belatedly and the remaining 87 contested candidates have neither submitted their explanations nor lodged the account of election expenses inspite of the show cause notices issued to them and recommended to disqualify the said 99 candidates;

- 3. Whereas, in view of the said report of the District Election Officer/District Collector, Tamil Nadu State Election Commission satisfied that out of 99 candidates 87 candidates have failed to lodge their account of election expenses as required by or under the said Act and have no good reason or justification for the failure and that it has been, *inter alia*, stated in Para 8 of the aforesaid orders third read above that further report with regard to remaining 12 candidates had been called for from the District Election Officer, Tiruvarur;
- 4. Whereas, the Tamil Nadu State Election Commission in its Statutory Order third read above, had issued orders disqualifying the said 87 candidates of Tiruvarur District for being elected as a Chairman or a Councillor or a Ward Member for a period of three years from the date of that Order for having failed to lodge their account of election expenses as required by or under the said Act; and
- 5. Whereas, the District Election Officer/District Collector, Tiruvarur in his further report fifth read above has, reported that the remaining 12 candidates lodged their accounts of election expenses belatedly and recommended for disqualification stating that the accounts of election expenses were lodged belatedly but no other reasons.
- 6. Now Therefore, in view of the reports received from the District Election Officer/District Collector, Tiruvarur and in exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (2-A) of section 49 of the Tamil Nadu District Municipalities Act, 1920 (Tamil Nadu Act V of 1920), the Tamil Nadu State Election Commission having satisfied with the further report of the said District Election Officer/District Collector, hereby decides and declares that the belated submission of explanation and lodging of election expenses accounts by 12 candidates listed in column (3) of the Table below against the contested election mentioned in the corresponding entry in column (2) thereof, shall be disqualified, for being elected as a Chairman or a Councillor or a Ward Member for a period of three years from the date of Order.

THE TABLE

Tiruvarur District

SI.No. (1)	Election Contested (2)	Name of the Candidate with address (3)
		Thiru/Tmt/Selvi
1	Tiruvarur Municipality Municipal Councillor Ward No.3	V. Rajendiran, 27A/1, Kakithakara Street, Tiruvarur.
2	Tiruvarur Municipality Municipal Councillor Ward No.9	T. Madhavi, 33/45, Ramakey Road, Tiruvarur
3	Tiruvarur Municipality Municipal Councillor Ward No.11	L. Latha, 7, Thuruvasar Sannathi Street, Tiruvarur.
4	Tiruvarur Municipality Municipal Councillor Ward No.26	P. Thilagam, 25A, Gandhi Street, Tiruvarur
5	Tiruvarur Municipality Municipal Councillor Ward No.28	R. Manoharan, 14, Mukthi Vinayakar Koil Street, Madapuram, Tiruvarur
6	Mannarkudi Municipality Municipal Councillor Ward No.8	Nagarajan, 30/2, Keezhmel Rajampalayam Street, Mannarkudi
7	Mannarkudi Municipality Municipal Councillor Ward No.16	Govindammal, Old Thanjavur Road, Mannarkudi
8	Mannarkudi Municipality Municipal Councillor Ward No.22	Manikanda Selvi, 4/7, Annavasal Street, Mannarkudi

SI.No. (1)	Election Contested (2)	Name of the Candidate with address (3)
		Thiru/Tmt/Selvi
9	Mannarkudi Municipality Municipal Councillor Ward No. 28	Kalimuthu, 39/D, Nataraja Pillai Street, Mannarkudi
10	Mannarkudi Municipality Municipal Councillor Ward No.29	Saravanabhavanantham, C/44, New Housing Board, Mannarkudi
11	Thiruthuraipoondi Municipality Municipal Councillor Ward No.4	M. Thajamma, 5C, Old Eda Street, Thiruthuraipoondi
12	Thiruthuraipoondi Municipality Municipal Councillor Ward No.19	P. Malliga, 106, Anna Nagar, Thiruthuraipoondi

(By order of the Tamil Nadu State Election Commission)

Chennai-600 106, 9th August 2016.

T.S. RAJASEKAR, Secretary, Tamil Nadu State Election Commission.