

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Rs. 1.60 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 122]

CHENNAI, TUESDAY, MAY 24, 2016 Vaikasi 11, Thunmugi, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2047

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL FOR BIENNIAL ELECTIONS TO COUNCIL OF STATES TO FILL VACANCIES OF MEMBERS RETIRING DURING JUNE, 2016.

No. SRO G-28/2016.

The following Notification of the Elelction Commission of India, New Delhi, dated: 24th May, 2016 [Jyaistha 03, 1938 (Saka)]is republished:-

No. 318/CS/2/2016(1):- Whereas, the President of India has by notification issued under Section 12 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951) and published in the *Gazette of India* on 24th May, 2016, been pleased to call upon the elected members of each of the Legislative Assemblies of the States, specified in column (1) of the TABLE below, to elect to the Council of States, the number of members specified against that State in column (2) of the said TABLE:

TABLE

State	No. of Members to be elected
(1)	(2)
Andhra Pradesh	4
Telangana	2
Chhattisgarh	2
Madhya Pradesh	3
Tamil Nadu	6
Karnataka	4
Odisha	3
Maharashtra	6
Punjab	2
Rajasthan	4
Uttar Pradesh	11
Uttrakhand	1
Bihar	5
Jharkhand	2
Haryana	2
Total	57 seats

Now, Therefore, in pursuance of sub-section (1) of Section 39 and Section 56 of the said Act, the Election Commission of India hereby.—

- (A) appoints, with respect to the said election:
 - (a) the 31st May, 2016 (Tuesday), as the last date for making nominations;
 - (b) the 1st June, 2016 (Wednesday), as the date for the scrutiny of the nominations;
 - (c) the 3rd June, 2016 (Friday), as the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures;
 - (d) the 11th June, 2016 (Saturday), as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken; and
 - (e) the 13th June, 2016 (Monday), as the date before which the election shall be completed; and
- (B) fixes the hours from 9:00 A.M. to 4.00 P.M., as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken in all the above mentioned States on the date specified above for the election.

(By Order)

K. AJAYA KUMAR, Senior Principal Secretary to the Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 24th May 2016. RAJESH LAKHONI, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICERS AND ASSISTANT RETURNING OFFICERS FOR BIENNIAL ELECTIONS TO COUNCIL OF STATES TO FILL VACANCIES OF MEMBERS RETIRING DURING JUNE, 2016.

No. SRO G - 29/2016.

The following Notification of the Elelction Commission of India, New Delhi, dated: 24th May, 2016 [Jyaistha 03, 1938 (Saka)] is republished:-

No. 318/CS/2/2016(2):- In pursuance of Section 21, and in exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of Section 22, of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India, in consultation with the Government of each of the States, specified in the column (1) of the TABLE below, hereby-

- (i) designates the officer, specified in the corresponding entry in column (2) of the said TABLE to be the Returning Officer, and
- (ii) appoints the officer, specified in the corresponding entry in column (3) of the said Table to be the Assistant Returning Officer to assist the Returning Officer in the performance of his functions;

In respect of the Biennial elections to the Council of States, to be held in that State in pursuance of the Notification of the President of India, published in the *Gazette of India* on 24th May, 2016:-

_	_	
	ΛDI	

State Officer Designated as Officer Appointed as Returning Officer Assistant Returing Officer (1)(2) (3)Andhra Pradesh Secretary-In-Charge, Sri P. Balakrishnamacharyulu, Deputy Secretary, Andhra Pradesh Legislature Andhra Pradesh Legislature Secretariat Secretariat. Secretary, Dr. V. Narasimha Charyulu, Joint Secretary, Telangana Telangana Legislature Telangana Legislature Secretariat. Secretariat Chhattisgarh Principal Secretary, Shri Chandra Sekhar Gangrade, Chhattisgarh Vidhan Sabha Additional Secretary, Chhattisgarh Vidhan Sabha.

State Officer Designated as Officer Appointed as Returning Officer Assistant Returing Officer

(2)(3)

Shri A.P. Singh, Madhya Pradesh Principal Secretary, Madhya Pradesh Vidhan Sabha Secretary,

Madhya Pradesh Vidhan Sabha

Tamil Nadu Thiru B. Subramaniam, Secretary,

Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Deputy Secretary,

Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly.

Karnataka Secretary (I/C), Shri M.S. Kumaraswamy,

Karnataka Legislative Assembly Deputy Secretary.

Karnataka Legislative Assembly.

Odisha Shri Bhawani Sankar Senapati, Secretary,

Joint Secretary, Odisha Legislative Assembly

Odisha Legislative Assembly.

Maharashtra Principal Secretary, 1. Shri Subhashchandra Mayekar,

Maharashtra Legislature Deputy Secretary,

Secretariat Maharashtra Legislature Secretariat.

2. Shri Kruturaj, J. Kurdatarkar,

Deputy Secretary,

Maharashtra Legislature Secretariat.

Secretary, Punjab Additional Secretary, Punjab Vidhan Sabha Punjab Vidhan Sabha,

> Secretariat Secretariat.

Rajasthan Special Secretary, Shri Mahesh Chandra Sharma,

Rajasthan Legislative Assembly. Assistant Secretary (General), Rajasthan Legislative Assembly.

Uttar Pradesh Principal Secretary, Shri Ashok Kumar Singh,

Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Sabha

Special Secretary, Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Sabha.

Uttrakhand Secretary, Shri Madan Singh Kunjwal,

Joint Secretary, Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha

Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha.

Bihar Secretary-In-Charge, Shri Pawan Kumar Sinha,

Under Secretary, Bihar Vidhan Sabha Bihar Vidhan Sabha.

Jharkhand Secretary-In-Charge, Shri Ranjit Kumar, Jharkhand Vidhan Sabha

Joint Secretary, Jharkhand Vidhan Sabha.

Secretary, Shri Subhas Chander, Haryana

Haryana Vidhan Sabha Joint Secretary,

Haryana Vidhan Sabha.

(By Order)

K. AJAYA KUMAR, Senior Principal Secretary to the Election Commission of India.

RAJESH LAKHONI, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government. Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 24th May 2016.

(1)