©
GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU
2016

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 121]

CHENNAI, TUESDAY, MAY 24, 2016 Vaikasi 11, Thunmugi, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2047

Part V—Section 1

Notifications by the Government, Public (Elections) Department.

PUBLIC (ELECTIONS) DEPARTMENT

BIENNIAL ELECTIONS TO COUNCIL OF STATES TO FILL VACANCIES OF MEMBERS RETIRING DURING JUNE, 2016

No. SRO D-3/2016.

The following Notification of the Government of India, Ministry of Law and Justice, Legislative Department, New Delhi, dated 24th May, 2016 [Jyaistha 3, 1938 (Saka)] is republished:-

S.O.......(E).—In pursuance of Section 12 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the President is pleased to call upon the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of the following 15 States to elect, in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, 57 new members for the purpose of filling the seats which are due to fall vacant (a) on the retirement of members of the Council of States, on the expiration of their term of office; and (b) resignation of one member each from Karnataka and Rajasthan, as per details given below:-

	Name of State	No. of seats to be filled	Date of retirement
	(1)	(2)	(3)
1)	Andhra Pradesh	4	21-06-2016
2)	Telangana	2	21-06-2016
3)	Chhattisgarh	2	29-06-2016
4)	Madhya Pradesh	3	29-06-2016
5)	Tamil Nadu	6	29-06-2016
6)	Karnataka	4	30-06-2016 (one seat vacant since 04-05-2016 due to resignation of Dr. Vijay Mallya)
7)	Odisha	3	01-07-2016
8)	Maharashtra	6	04-07-2016
9)	Punjab	2	04-07-2016

	Name of State (1)	No. of seats to be filled (2)	Date of retirement (3)
10)	Rajasthan	4	04-07-2016 (one seat vacant since 07-03-2016 due to resignation of Shri Anand Sharma)
11)	Uttar Pradesh	11	04-07-2016
12)	Uttrakhand	1	04-07-2016
13)	Bihar	5	07-07-2016
14)	Jharkhand	2	07-07-2016
15)	Haryana	2	01-08-2016

[F.No.H.11024(1)/2016-Leg.II]

(By Order)

DR. REETA VASISHTA,

Additional Secretary to the Government of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 24th May, 2016. RAJESH LAKHONI, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.