

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Rs. 1.60 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 9]

CHENNAI, TUESDAY, JANUARY 21, 2014 Thai 8, Vijaya, Thiruvalluvar Aandu-2045

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL FOR BIENNIAL ELECTIONS TO COUNCIL OF STATES TO FILL VACANCIES OF MEMBERS RETIRING DURING APRIL, 2014.

No. SRO G-3/2014.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, New Delhi, dated 21st January, 2014 [Magha 01, 1935 (Saka)] is republished:—

No. 318/CS/2014(1).—Whereas, the President of India has, by notification issued under Section 12 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951) and published in the Gazette of India on 21st January, 2014 been pleased to call upon the elected members of each of the Legislative Assemblies of the States, specified in columns (1) of the TABLE below, to elect to the Council of States, the number of members specified against that State in column (2) of the said TABLE;

TABLE

Name of the States (1)		No. of Members (2)
1.	Maharashtra	7
2.	Odisha	4
3.	Tamil Nadu	6
4.	West Bengal	5
5.	Andhra Pradesh	6
6.	Assam	3
7.	Bihar	5

Name	of the States (1)	No. of Members (2)
8.	Chhattisgarh	2
9.	Gujarat	4
10.	Haryana	2
11.	Himachal Pradesh	1
12.	Jharkhand	2
13.	Madhya Pradesh	3
14.	Manipur	1
15.	Rajasthan	3
16.	Meghalaya	1

Now, therefore, in pursuance of sub-section (1) of Section 39 and Section 56 of the said Act, the Election Commission of India hereby—

- (A) appoints, with respect to the said election in each of the above mentioned States,
 - (a) the 28th January, 2014 (Tuesday), as the last date for making nominations;
 - (b) the 29th January, 2014 (Wednesday), as the date for the scrutiny of the nominations;
 - (c) the 31st January, 2014 (Friday), as the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures;
 - (d) the 7th February, 2014 (Friday), as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken; and
 - (e) the 10th February, 2014 (Monday), as the date before which the election shall be completed; and
- (B) fixes the hours from 9.00 A.M. to 4.00 P.M., as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken in all the above mentioned States, on the date specified above, for the election.

(By Order)

K.N. BHAR, Secretary to the Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 21st January, 2014.

PRAVEEN KUMAR,

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICERS AND ASSISTANT RETURNING OFFICERS FOR BIENNIAL ELECTIONS TO COUNCIL OF STATES TO FILL VACANCIES OF MEMBERS RETIRING DURING APRIL, 2014.

No. SRO G-4/2014.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, New Delhi, dated 21st January, 2014 [Magha 01, 1935 (Saka)] is republished:—

No. 318/CS/2014(2).—In pursuance of Section 21, and in exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of Section 22, of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India, in consultation with the Government of each State, specified in column (1) of the TABLE below, hereby:—

- (i) designates the officer, specified in the corresponding entry in column (2) of the said TABLE, to be the Returning Officer; and
- (ii) appoints the officer(s), specified in the corresponding entry in column (3) of the said Table, to be the Assistant Returning Officer(s) to assist the Returning Officer in the performance of his functions;

in respect of the biennial elections to the council of States, to be held in that State, in pursuance of the notification of the President of India, published in the *Gazette of India* on 21st January, 2014.

TABLE

State (1)	Officer Designated as Returning Officer (2)	Officer Appointed as Assistant Returning Officer (3)
Andhra Pradesh	Secretary to State Legislature, Andhra Pradesh Legislature Secretariat	Shri K Satyanarayana Rao, Deputy Secretary to State Legislature, Andhra Pradesh Legislature Secretariat.
Assam	Principal Secretary, Assam Legislative Assembly Secretariat	Shri Pranab Kumar Das, Additional Secretary, Assam Legislative Assembly Secretariat.
Bihar	Secretary-in-charge, Bihar Legislative Assembly	Shri Narendra Kumar Singh, Deputy Secretary, Bihar Legislative Assembly.
Chhattisgarh	Principal Secretary, Chhattisgarh Vidhan Sabha.	Shri Chandra Shekhar Gangrade, Additional Secretary, Chhattisgarh Vidhan Sabha.
Gujarat	Secretary, Gujarat Legislature Secretariat	Deputy Secretary, Gujarat Legislature Secretariat.
Haryana	Secretary, Haryana Vidhan Sabha	Shri Rajinder Kumar Nandal, Additional Secretary, Haryana Vidhan Sabha.
Himachal Pradesh	Secretary, Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha	Shri Lal Singh Kanwar, Under Secretary, Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha.
Jharkhand	Secretary-in-charge Jharkhand Vidhan Sabha	Shri Vijay Prasad Kumar, Joint Secretary, Jharkhand Vidhan Sabha.
Madhya Pradesh	Principal Secretary, Madhya Pradesh Vidhan Sabha	Shri A.P. Singh, Additional Secretary, Madhya Pradesh Vidhan Sabha.
Maharashtra	Principal Secretary, Maharashtra Legislature Secretariat	Shri Subhashchandra Mayekar, Deputy Secretary, Maharashtra Legislature Secretariat.
		 Shri Santosh Paradkar, Under Secretary, Maharashtra Legislature Secretariat.
Manipur	Secretary, Manipur Legislative Assembly	 Smt M. Ramani Devi, Joint Secretary, Manipur Legislative Assembly.
		 Shri Rohit Sapam, Deputy Secretary, Manipur Legislative Assembly.

State Officer Designated as Officer Appointed as Returning Officer Assistant Returning Officer (1)

(2)

Meghalaya Secretary, Shri T.D. Sangma, Meghalaya Legislative Assembly Joint Secretary,

Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.

Odisha Shri Bhawani Sankar Senapati, Secretary,

Odisha Legislative Assembly Joint Secretary,

Secretariat Odisha Legislative Assembly,

Secretariat.

Rajasthan Special Secretary, 1. Deputy Secretary (Administration) Rajasthan Legislative Assembly Rajasthan Legislative Assembly

2. Deputy Secretary (General),

Rajasthan Legislative Assembly

Tamil Nadu Secretary, Shri. A. Veerarajendran, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly

Deputy Secretary,

Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly.

West Bengal Secretary, Shri Durgaprosad Bhattacharjee,

Joint Secretary, West Bengal West Bengal Legislative Assembly

Legislative Assembly.

(By Order)

K.N. BHAR, Secretary to the Election Commission of India.

PRAVEEN KUMAR,

Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 21st January, 2014.