[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14. [R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price : Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 235]

CHENNAI, SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 15, 2014 Aippasi 29, Jaya, Thiruvalluvar Aandu – 2045

Part III—Section 1(a)

General Statutory Rules, Notifications, Orders, Regulations, etc., issued by Secretariat Departments.

NOTIFICATIONS BY GOVERNMENT

HOME DEPARTMENT

MOTOR VEHICLES—USE OF RED BEACON LIGHT ON TOP FRONT OF THE VEHICLES OF HIGH DIGNITARIES -USE OF BLUE LIGHT AND MULTI COLOURED LIGHT ON VEHICLES.

[G.O. Ms. No. 826, Home (Transport-V), 15th November 2014.]

No. SRO A-31(a)/2014.

NOTIFICATION

In exercise of the powers conferred under clause (iii) of the proviso to sub-rule (1) of rule 108 and sub-rules (2), (3) and (4) thereof of the Central Motor Vehicles Rules, 1989, and in supersession of all earlier orders issued in this regard, the Governor of Tamil Nadu hereby specifies as follows:-

- 1. The vehicles carrying the following High Dignitaries shall be permitted to use red light with flasher as top light:----
 - (1) His Excellency the Governor
 - (2) Hon'ble Chief Minister
 - (3) Hon'ble Chief Justice, High Court
 - (4) Speaker of the Legislative Assembly
 - (5) Ministers of the State
 - (6) Judges of the High Court
- 2. The vehicles carrying the following High Dignitaries shall be permitted to use red light without flasher as top light:-
 - (1) Deputy Speaker of Legislative Assembly
 - (2) Chief Secretary
 - (3) Chairman and Members of Advisory Board (NSA)
 - (4) Chairman and Members of State Advisory Board (COFEPOSA)
 - (5) Chairperson, State Human Rights Commission
 - (6) Chairman, Tamil Nadu State Minorities Commission
 - (7) Chairman, Tamil Nadu State Backward Classes Commission

Ex.III-1(a) (235)

TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY

- (8) Chairman, State Law Commission
- (9) President, State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission
- (10) State Election Commissioner
- (11) Chairman, Tamil Nadu Public Service Commission
- (12) Advocate General, High Court of Madras
- (13) Vice-Chairperson, State Planning Commission
- (14) Tamil Nadu State Co-operative Societies Election Commissioner
- 3. The vehicles carrying the following Police officials shall be permitted to use blue light with flasher as top light:-
 - (1) Director General of Police
 - (2) Additional Directors General of Police
 - (3) Inspectors General of Police
 - (4) Deputy Inspectors General of Police
 - (5) Superintendents of Police and Commandants
 - (6) Commissioners, Additional Commissioners, Joint Commissioners and Deputy Commissioners in Commissionerates of Police.
 - (7) Advance Pilot, Pilot and escort vehicles provided in convoy for protected persons as per security classification.
 - (8) Additional Superintendents of Police
 - (9) Deputy Superintendents of Police
 - (10) Additional Deputy Commissioners of Police
 - (11) Assistant Commissioners of Police in-charge of Law and Order

4. The vehicles carrying the following officials/functionaries who require un-hindered access to the roads for the performance of their duty shall be permitted to use blue light with flasher as top light:—

- (1) Secretaries to the Government
- (2) Heads of Departments
- (3) District Collectors
- (4) Commissioners of Municipal Corporation, Chairman and Managing Directors of State PSUs/ Boards
- (5) District Judges
- (6) Chief Metropolitan Magistrate / Chief Judicial Magistrate
- (7) Registrar General of High Court
- (8) Additional Collectors / District Revenue Officers
- (9) Sub-Collectors / Revenue Divisional Officers
- (10) Mayors of Municipal Corporations
- (11) Chairman, District Panchayats
- 5. The following vehicles engaged in emergency duties shall be permitted to use multi-coloured red, blue and white light:-
 - (1) Fire and Rescue Services Vehicles
 - (2) Enforcement Duty Vehicles of Transport Department
 - (3) Patrol Vehicles of Police Department

6. Ambulance Vehicles shall use blinker type of red light with purple glass as provided in clause (iv) of the proviso to sub-rule (1) of rule 108 of the Central Motor Vehicles Rules, 1989.

APURVA VARMA, Principal Secretary to Government.