

TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 79]

CHENNAI, FRIDAY, MARCH 19, 2010 Panguni 5, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2041

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India.

DIRECTION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S DIRECTION SPECIFYING THAT THE VOTES AT THE BYE-ELECTION TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 83. PENNAGARAM ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY SHALL BE GIVEN AND RECORDED BY MEANS OF VOTING MACHINES.

No. SRO G-3/2010.

The following Direction of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 15th March 2010 is published:—

No. 576/3/EVM/2010/SDR(LA):—Whereas, Section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, provides that the giving and recording of votes by Voting Machines in such manner as may be prescribed, may be adopted in such constituency as the Election Commission of India may, having regard to the circumstances of each case specify; and

2. Whereas, the Commission has considered the circumstances in 83-Pennagaram Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu and is satisfied that sufficient number of Electronic Voting Machines are available for taking the poll in the abovementioned Assembly Constituency, the polling personnel are well trained in efficient handling of the Electronic Voting Machines and the electors are also fully conversant with the operation of the Electronic Voting Machines;

3. Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India hereby specifies 83-Pennagaram Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu as the constituency in which the votes at the current bye-election to the Legislative Assembly of the said State notified on 3rd March 2010, shall be given and recorded by means of Electronic Voting Machines in the manner prescribed under the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, and the supplementary instructions issued by the Commission from time to time on the subject.

(By Order)

BERNARD JOHN, Secretary, Election Commission of India.

NARESH GUPTA, Chief Electoral Officer and Additional Chief Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 19th March 2010.