GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU 2010 [Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Rs.1.60 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 156]

CHENNAI, MONDAY, MAY 31, 2010 Vaikasi 17, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2041

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL FOR BIENNIAL ELECTIONS TO COUNCIL OF STATES TO FILL VACANCIES OF MEMBERS RETIRING DURING JUNE, 2010.

No. SRO G-10/2010.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, New Delhi, dated 31st May, 2010 [Jyaistha 10, 1932 (Saka)] is republished:—

No. 318/2/2010 (1).—Whereas, the President of India has, by notification issued under Section 12 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951) and published in the Gazette of India on 31st May, 2010, been pleased to call upon the elected members of each of the Legislative Assemblies of the States, specified in column (1) of the TABLE below, to elect to the Council of States, the number of members specified against that State in column (2) of the said TABLE:—

TABLE

	State.	No. of membe to be filled.
	(1)	(2)
1.	Chhattisgarh	2
2.	Madhya Pradesh	3
3.	Tamil Nadu	6
4.	Karnataka	4
5.	Orissa	3
6.	Maharashtra	6
7.	Punjab	2
8.	Rajasthan	4
9.	Uttar Pradesh	11
10.	Uttarakhand	1
11.	Bihar	5
12.	Jharkhand	2
	Total	49

Now, therefore, in pursuance of sub-section (1) of Section 39 and Section 56 of the said Act, the Election Commission of India hereby-

(A) Appoints, with respect to the said election:

- the 7th June, 2010 (Monday), as the last date for making nominations;
- the 8th June, 2010 (Tuesday), as the date for the scrutiny of the nominations; (b)
- the 10th June, 2010 (Thursday), as the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures; (c)
- (d) the 17th June, 2010 (Thursday), as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken; and
- the 19th June, 2010 (Saturday), as the date before which the election shall be completed; and (e)
- (B) Fixes the hours from 9.00 A.M. to 4.00 P.M. as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken in all the above mentioned States, on the date specified above for the election.

(By Order)

K. AJAY KUMAR, Secretary to the Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 31st May 2010.

NARESH GUPTA,

Chief Electoral Officer and Additional Chief Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICERS AND ASSISTANT RETURNING OFFICERS FOR BIENNIAL ELECTIONS TO COUNCIL OF STATES TO FILL VACANCIES OF MEMBERS RETIRING DURING JUNE, 2010.

No. SRO G-11/2010.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, New Delhi, dated 31st May, 2010 [Jyaistha 10, 1932 (Saka)] is republished:-

No.318/2/2010 (2):—In pursuance of Section 21, and in exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of Section 22 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India, in consultation with the Government of each States, specified in column (1) of the TABLE below, hereby-

- (i) designates the officer, specified in the corresponding entry in column (2) of the said TABLE, to be the Returning Officer; and
- (ii) appoints the officer, specified in the corresponding entry in column (3) of the said Table, to be the Assistant Returning Officer to assist the Returning Officer in the performance of his functions;

in respect of the biennial elections to the Council of States, to be held in that State, in pursuance of the notification of the President of India, published in the Gazette of India on 31st May, 2010:—

TABLE

State.	Officer Designated as Returning Officer.	Officer Appointed as Assistant Returning Officer.
(1)	(2)	(3)
1. Chhattisgarh	Secretary Chhattisgarh Vidhan Sabha.	Additional Secretary, Chhattisgarh Vidhan Sabha.
2. Madhya Pradesh	Principal Secretary, Madhya Pradesh Vidhan Sabha.	Deputy Secretary, Madhya Pradesh Vidhan Sabha.
3. Tamil Nadu	Secretary, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly.	Deputy Secretary, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly.

State.	Officer Designated as Returning Officer.	Officer Appointed as Assistant Returning Officer.		
(1)	(2)	(3)		
4. Karnataka	Secretary, Karnataka Legislative Assembly	Joint Secretary, Karnataka Legislative Assembly.		
5. Orissa	Secretary, Orissa Legislative Assembly.	Deputy Secretary, Orissa Legislative Assembly.		
6. Maharashtra	Principal Secretary, Maharashtra Legislature Secretariat.	Shri Subhashchandra Mayekar, Under Secretary, Maharashtra Legislature Secretariat.		
7. Punjab	Secretary, Punjab Vidhan Sabha.	Smt. Swarn Kanta, Under Secretary, Punjab Vidhan Sabha Secretariat.		
8. Rajasthan	Secretary, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly.	(1) Deputy Secretary (Administration and House), Rajasthan Legislative Assembly.(2) Assistant Secretary (General), Rajasthan Legislative Assembly.		
9. Uttar Pradesh	Principal Secretary, Legislative Assembly, Uttar Pradesh.	Special Secretary, Legislative Assembly, Uttar Pradesh.		
10. Uttarakhand	Principal Secretary, Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha.	Additional Secretary, Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha.		
11. Bihar	Secretary, Bihar Vidhan Sabha.	Deputy Secretary, Bihar Vidhan Sabha.		
12. Jharkhand	Secretary , Jharkhand Legislative Assembly.	Joint Secretary, Jharkhand Legislative Assembly.		
(By Order)				

K. AJAY KUMAR, Secretary to the Election Commission of India.

NARESH GUPTA,

Chief Electoral Officer and Additional Chief Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 31st May, 2010.