[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11.

[Price: Rs. 1.60 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 44]

CHENNAI, TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 17, 2009 Maasi 5, Thiruvalluvar Aandu-2040

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

DIRECTION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S DIRECTION RELATING TO THE LANGUAGE OR LANGUAGES IN WHICH THE LIST OF CONTESTING CANDIDATES IN FORM-7A SHOULD BE PREPARED AT AN ELECTION TO THE PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCY.

No. SRO G-4/2009.

The following Direction of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 6th February, 2009 is published:—

No. 3/4/2008/JS-II/SDR.—In pursuance of sub-rules (1) and (3) of Rule 10 of the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961 and in supersession of its direction S.O. No. 2/87, dated 17th July, 1987 the Election Commission of India hereby directs that at an election in a Parliamentary Constituency specified in column 2 of the Table below, the list of contesting candidates shall be prepared in Form-7A in the languages specified against that constituency in column 3 of the said Table, and that where the list is prepared in more than one language, the name of candidates shall be arranged alphabetically according to the script of the language first specified in the said column.

When any such list is forwarded to the Election Commission, it shall, if not in English, be accompanied by a translation in English.

TABLE

State/Union Parliamentary Constituency Language/Languages **Territory** (1) (2) (3)1. Andhra Pradesh (a) 1-Adilabad (ST) Telugu and Marathi 5-Zahirabad Telugu, English and Urdu (b) 4-Nizamabad 7-Malkajgiri 8-Secunderabad 9-Hyderabad (c) All other Parliamentary Constituencies Telugu

State/Union Territory	Parliamentary Constituency	Language/Languages
(1)	(2)	(3)
2. Arunachal Pradesh	All Parliamentary Constituencies	English
3. Assam	(a) 1-Karimganj (SC) 2-Silchar	Bengali
	(b) 3-Autonomous District (ST)(c) All other Parliamentary Constituencies	Assamese and English Assamese
4. Bihar	All Parliamentary Constituencies	Hindi
5. Chhattisgarh	All Parliamentary Constituencies	Hindi
6. Goa	All Parliamentary Constituencies	Konkani in Devnagari script, Marathi and English
7. Gujarat	All Parliamentary Constituencies	Gujarati
8. Haryana	All Parliamentary Constituencies	Hindi
9. Himachal Pradesh	All Parliamentary Constituencies	Hindi
10. Jammu and Kashmir	(a) 5-Udhampur	Urudu and Hindi
	6-Jammu	
	(b) All other Parliamentary Constituencies	Urdu
11. Jharkhand	All Parliamentary Constituencies	Hindi
12. Karnataka	(a) 1-Chikkodi 2-Belgaum	Kannada and Marathi
	7-Bidar 12-Uttara Kannada	
	(b) 23-Bangalore (Rural)24-Bangalore North25-Bangalore Central26-Bangalore South28-Kolar (SC)	Kannada and English
	(c) All other Parliamentary Constituencies	Kannada
13. Kerala	(<i>a</i>) 1-Kasaragod (<i>b</i>) 14-Idukki	Malayalam and Kannada Malayalam and Tamil
	(c) All other Parliamentary Constituencies	Malayalam
14. Madhya Pradesh	(a) 19-Bhopal	Hindi and Urudu
	(b) All other Parliamentary Constituencies	Hindi
15. Maharashtra	(a) 10-Nagpur 25-Thane 26-Mumbai North 27-Mumbai North-West 28-Mumbai North-East 29-Mumbai North-Central 30-Mumbai South-Central 31-Mumbai South 34-Pune	Marathi and English
	(b) All other Parliamentary Constituencies	Marathi

State/Union Territory.	Parliamentary Constituency.	Language/Languages.
(1)	(2)	(3)
16. Manipur	(a) 1-Inner Manipur(b) 2-Outer Manipur (ST)	Manipuri Manipuri and English
17. Meghalaya	All Parliamentary Constituencies	English
18. Mizoram	Entire Parliamentary Constituency	English
19. Nagaland	Entire Parliamentary Constituency	English
20. Orissa	All Parliamentary Constituencies	Oriya
21. Punjab	(a) 1-Gurudaspur2-Amritsar4-Jullundur6-Hoshiarpur8-Patiala	Punjabi and Hindi
	9-Ludhiana	
	13-Ferozepur	
	(b) All other Parliamentary Constituencies	Punjabi
22. Rajasthan	All Parliamentary Constituencies	Hindi
23. Sikkim	Entire Parliamentary Constituency	English
24. Tamil Nadu	(a) 2-Chennai North 3-Chennai South 4-Chennai Central	Tamil and English
	(b) 7-Arakkonam	Tamil and Telugu
	(c) 9-Krishnagiri	Tamil, Telugu and Kannada
	(<i>d</i>) 19-The Nilgiris (SC) 39-Kanniyakumari	Tamil and Malayalam
	(e) All other Parliamentary Constituencies	Tamil
25. Tripura	All Parliamentary Constituencies	Bengali
26. Uttar Pradesh	 (a) 1-Saharanpur 4-Bijnor 5-Nagina (SC) 6-Moradabad 7-Rampur 8-Sambhal 9-Amroha 10-Meerut (b) All Other Parliamentary Constituencies 	Hindi and Urdu Hindi
27. Uttarakhand	All Parliamentary Constituencies	Hindi

State/Union Territory.	Parliamentary Constituency.	Language/Languages.
(1)	(2)	(3)
28. West Bengal	(a) 4-Darjeeling	Bengali and Nepali
	(b) 5- Raiganj	Bengali and Hindi
	(c) 17-Barasat	Bengali and English
	21-Diamond Harbour	
	34-Medinipur	
	(a) 23-Kolkata Dakshin	English
	24-Kolkata Uttar	
	(e) All other Parliamentary Constituencies	Bengali
29. Andaman & Nicobar Island	Entire Parliamentary Constituency	Hindi and English
30. Chandigarh	Entire Parliamentary Constituency	Hindi and Punjabi
31. Dadra & Nagar Haveli	Entire Parliamentary Constituency	Gujarati, Marathi and English
32. Daman & Diu	Entire Parliamentary Constituency	Gujarati
33. NCT of Delhi	All Parliamentary Constituencies	Hindi and English
34. Lakshadweep	Entire Parliamentary Constituency	Malayalam
35. Puducherry	Entire Parliamentary Constituency	Tamil, Telugu and Malayalam
	(By Order)	
		K. F. WILFRED,

K. F. WILFRED, Secretary.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 17th February 2009.

NARESH GUPTA,

Chief Electoral Officer and Additional Chief Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.