

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11. IR. Dis. No. 197/2009.

[Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 3451

CHENNAI, SATURDAY, DECEMBER 26, 2009 Margazhi 11, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2040

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India.

NOTIFICATIONS BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA.

APPOINTMENT OF DATES FOR VARIOUS STAGES OF BYE-ELECTION TO TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 83. PENNAGARAM ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCY AND FIXATION OF HOURS OF POLL TO FILL A VACANCY CAUSED BY THE DEATH OF A MEMBER.

No. SRO G-50/2009.

The following Notification of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated: 26th December, 2009 [5 Pausa, 1931 (Saka)] is published:—

- No. 100/TN-LA/8/2009.—Whereas, the seat of Shri P.N. Periannan, in the Legislative Assembly of the Tamil Nadu State, elected from 83. Pennagaram Assembly Constituency has become vacant on 01-12-2009, by reason of his death; and
 - 2. Whereas, a bye-election is to be held for the purpose of filling the vacancy so caused;
- **3. Now, therefore,** in pursuance of sub-section (1) of Sections 150, 30 and 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India hereby:—
- **(A) Calls upon** the said **83. Pennagaram Assembly Constituency** in the State of Tamil Nadu to elect, before the 24-01-2010 (Sunday) and in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, a person, for the purpose of filling the said vacancy in the Legislative Assembly of the State; and
 - (B) Appoints, with respect to the said election,-
 - (a) the 2nd January 2010 (Saturday) as the last date for making nominations;
 - (b) the 4th January 2010 (Monday) as the date for the scrutiny of nominations;
 - (c) the 6th January 2010 (Wednesday) as the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures;
 - (d) the 20th January 2010 (Wednesday) as the date, on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken;
 - (e) the 24th January 2010 (Sunday) as the date before which the election shall be completed; and

(C) Fixes the hours from 8.00 A.M. to 5.00 P.M., as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken on the date specified above, for the election.

(By Order)

TAPAS KUMAR,
Principal Secretary,
Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 26th December, 2009. NARESH GUPTA,

Chief Electoral Officer and Additional Chief Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.