© GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU 2009

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 239]

CHENNAI, THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 10, 2009 Aavani 25, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2040

Part II—Section 2

Notifications or Orders of interest to a section of the public issued by Secretariat Departments.

NOTIFICATIONS BY GOVERNMENT

HIGHER EDUCATION DEPARTMENT

CONSTITUTION OF SYNDICATE AND DATE OF COMMENCEMENT OF FUNCTIONS OF ANNA UNIVERSITY, TIRUNELVELI UNDER ANNA UNIVERSITY, TIRUNELVELI ACT.

NOTIFICATION-I

[G.O. 1(D) No. 217, Higher Education (I-1), 10th September 2009, Aavani 25, Thiruvalluvar Aandu-2040.]

No. II(2)/HE/467(b-1)/2009.

The Government of Tamil Nadu hereby notifies the Constitution of the Syndicate of Anna University, Tirunelveli by the Chancellor of that University under sub-section (1) of Section 21 of the Anna University, Tirunelveli Act, 2007 (Tamil Nadu Act 28 of 2007), with the following members in addition to the Vice-Chancellor, who is the *ex-officio* Chairperson of the Syndicate:—

Class I - Ex-Officio Members.

- (a) The Secretary to Government, in charge of Higher Education;
- (b) The Secretary to Government, in-charge of Industries;
- (c) The Secretary to Government, in-charge of Information Technology;
- (d) The Secretary to Government, in-charge of Law; and
- (e) The Director of Technical Education.

Class II - Other Members.

(a) One member from among the Chairmen of the Faculties nominated by the Chancellor on the recommendation of the Vice-Chancellor:—

Dr. D. Gnanadurai, Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, SCAD College of Engineering and Technology, Cheranmahadevi and Chairman, Faculty of Computer Science and Engineering, Anna University, Tirunelveli. (b) One member from among the Professors and Heads of the Departments of the Government Engineering Colleges, nominated by the Chancellor on the recommendation of the Government:—

Dr. K. Rajagopal, Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, Government College of Engineering, Tirunelveli.

(c) Two members representing Public and Private Sectors, Industries and Research Institutions having special knowledge and practical experience in Industry and Commerce, nominated by the Chancellor on the recommendation of the Government:—

- Thiru Karumuttu T. Kannan, Managing Director, Thyagarajar Mills, Madurai.
- (2) Thiru S. Mohemed Jaleel, Director, Nazia Exports (P) Ltd., 434, Anna Nagar, Madurai-625 020.

(d) Two members from among the Principals of the affiliated colleges nominated by the Chancellor on the recommendation of the Government:—

- Dr. V. Abaikumar, Principal, Thiyagarajar College of Engineering, Madurai.
- Dr. C. Kumar Charlie Paul, Principal, PSN Engineering College, Thoothukudi, Paul's Cottage, 13/4, Nandagopalapuram West, Thoothukudi-628 002.

(e) Two members from among the Managements of the affiliated, aided and self-financing Engineering Colleges, nominated by the Chancellor on the recommendation of the Government:—

- Thiru Peter Alphonse, Chairman, J.P. College of Engineering, Tirunelveli.
- Dr. P. Suyambu, Chairman, PSN Group of Institutions,
 6, Siva Illam, Chidambaranathan Street, Ramavarmapuram, Nagercoil-629 001.

(f) One member elected by the Members of the Legislative Assembly of the State from among themselves:—

Thiru N. Malairaja,Member of Legislative Assembly,42, Distillery Street, Thachanallur, Tirunelveli Constituency,Tirunelveli District-627 358.

NOTIFICATION-II

[G.O. 1(D) No. 217, Higher Education (I-1), 10th September 2009, Aavani 25, Thiruvalluvar Aandu-2040.]

No. II(2)/HE/467(b-2)/2009.

In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (3) of Section 56 of the Anna University, Tirunelveli Act, 2007 (Tamil Nadu Act 28 of 2007), the Governor of Tamil Nadu hereby specifies the 10th September 2009, as the date on which the Syndicate of the Anna University, Tirunelveli shall commence to exercise its functions.

K. GANESAN, Principal Secretary to Government.