GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU 2009

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11.

[Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 206]

CHENNAI, FRIDAY, AUGUST 7, 2009 Aadi 22, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2040

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India.

DIRECTION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

ELECTION COMMISSION'S DIRECTION SPECIFYING THAT THE VOTES AT THE BYE-ELECTIONS TO THE TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 197. ILAYANGUDI, 103. THONDAMUTHUR, 134. CUMBUM, 78. BARGUR AND 226. SRIVAIKUNTAM ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCIES SHALL BE GIVEN AND RECORDED BY MEANS OF VOTING MACHINES.

No. SRO G-33/2009.

The following Direction of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 27th July 2009 is published:—

No. 576/3/EVM/2009/SDR(LA):—Whereas, Section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, provides that the giving and recording of votes by Voting Machines in such manner as may be prescribed, may be adopted in such constituencies as the Election Commission of India may, having regard to the circumstances of each case specify; and

2. Whereas, the Commission has considered the circumstances in 197-Ilayangudi, 103-Thondamuthur, 134-Cumbum, 78-Bargur and 226-Srivaikuntam Assembly Constituencies in Tamil Nadu, 145-Bow Bazar Kolkata and 156-Sealdah Kolkata Assembly Constituencies in West Bengal, 16-Moradabad West, 391-Morna, 291-Bidhuna and 83-Malihabad (SC) Assembly Constituencies in Uttar Pradesh, 185-Channapatha, 166-Govindrajnagar, 40-Chittapur (SC), 183-Ramanagar and 222-Kollegal (SC) Assembly Constituencies in Karnataka, 17-Laitumkhrah Assembly Constituency in Meghalaya and is satisfied that sufficient number of Electronic Voting Machines are available for taking the poll in the abovementioned Assembly Constituencies, the polling personnel are well trained in efficient handling of the Electronic Voting Machines and the electors are also fully conversant with the operation of the Electronic Voting Machines;

3. Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India hereby specifies 197-Ilayangudi, 103-Thondamuthur, 134-Cumbum, 78-Bargur and 226-Srivaikuntam Assembly Constituencies in Tamil Nadu, 145-Bow Bazar Kolkata and 156-Sealdah Kolkata Assembly Constituencies in West Bengal, 16-Moradabad West, 391-Morna, 291-Bidhuna and 83-Malihabad (SC) Assembly Constituencies in Uttar Pradesh, 185-Channapatha, 166-Govindrajnagar, 40-Chittapur (SC), 183-Ramanagar and 222-Kollegal (SC) Assembly Constituencies in Karnataka, 17-Laitumkhrah Assembly Constituency in Meghalaya, as the constituencies in which the votes at the current bye-elections to the Legislative Assemblies of the said States notified on 22nd July 2009, shall be given and recorded by means of Electronic Voting Machines in the manner prescribed under the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, and the supplementary instructions issued by the Commission from time to time on the subject.

(By Order)

K. F. WILFRED,
Secretary,
Election Commission of India.

Public (Elections) Department.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 7th August 2009. NARESH GUPTA,
Chief Electoral Officer and
Additional Chief Secretary to Government.