GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU 2009

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11. [Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



# TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

## **EXTRAORDINARY**

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 204]

CHENNAI, THURSDAY, AUGUST 6, 2009 Aadi 21. Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2040

### Part II—Section 1

Notifications or Orders of specific character or of particular interest to the public issued by Secretariat Departments.

#### NOTIFICATIONS BY GOVERNMENT

# PUBLIC DEPARTMENT (Elections)

DECLARATION OF TUESDAY, 18TH AUGUST, 2009 AS A PUBLIC HOLIDAY IN CONNECTION WITH THE BYE-ELECTIONS TO TAMIL NADU LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FROM 78. BARGUR, 103. THONDAMUTHUR, 134. CUMBUM, 197. ILAYANGUDI AND 226. SRIVAIKUNTAM ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCIES IN TAMIL NADU.

[G.O. Ms. No. 731, Public (Elections-III), 3rd August 2009.]

#### No. II(1)/PUE/26(a)/2009.

Under the Explanation to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (Central Act XXVI of 1881), read with the Notification of the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, No. 20-25-26, Public-I, dated the 8th June, 1957, the Governor of Tamil Nadu hereby declares Tuesday, 18th August, 2009, the date on which the poll for the Bye-elections to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 78.Bargur, 103.Thondamuthur, 134.Cumbum, 197.Ilayangudi and 226.Srivaikuntam Assembly Constituencies will take place, to be public holiday for the areas comprised in the above Assembly Constituencies lying in Krishnagiri, Coimbatore, Theni, Sivaganga, Ramanathapuram and Thoothukudi Districts.

2. All Government offices including industrial establishments of the Government and Government controlled bodies and all the educational institutions throughout the areas comprised in 78.Bargur, 103.Thondamuthur, 134.Cumbum, 197.llayangudi and 226.Srivaikuntam Assembly Constituencies lying in Krishnagiri, Coimbatore, Theni, Sivaganga, Ramanathapuram and Thoothukudi Districts will remain closed on 18th August 2009.

K.S. SRIPATHI, Chief Secretary.