GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU 2009

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2009-11.

[Price: Re. 0.80 Paise.



TAMIL NADU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 105]

CHENNAI, MONDAY, APRIL 20, 2009 Chithirai 7, Thiruvalluvar Aandu–2040

Part V—Section 4

Notifications by the Election Commission of India.

DIRECTION BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA.

ELECTION COMMISSION'S DIRECTION SPECIFYING THAT THE VOTES AT THE CURRENT GENERAL ELECTION TO THE HOUSE OF THE PEOPLE, 2009, SHALL BE GIVEN AND RECORDED BY MEANS OF ELECTRONIC VOTING MACHINES.

No. SRO G-19/2009.

The following Direction of the Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, dated 27th March, 2009 is published:—

- No. 576/3/EVM/2009/SDR.—Whereas, Section 61A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, provides that the giving and recording of votes by Voting Machines in such manner as may be prescribed, may be adopted in such constituency or constituencies as the Election Commission may, having regard to the circumstances of each case specify; and
- 2. Whereas, the Commission has considered the circumstances in each of the 543 Parliamentary Constituencies at the current General Election to the House of the People, 2009, and is satisfied that sufficient number of Electronic Voting Machines are available for taking the poll in these 543 Parliamentary Constituencies, the polling personnel are well trained in efficient handling of the Electronic Voting Machines and the electors are also fully conversant with the operation of the Electronic Voting Machines;
- 3. Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India hereby specifies each of the 543 Parliamentary Constituencies at the current General Election to the House of the People, 2009, as the constituencies in which the votes at the current General Election to the House of the People notified/to be notified on 23rd March 2009, 28th March 2009, 2nd April 2009, 11th April 2009 and 17th April 2009, shall be given and recorded by means of Electronic Voting Machines, in the manner prescribed under the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961 and the supplementary instructions issued by the Commission from time to time on the subject.

(By Order)

K. F. WILFRED,
Secretary,
Election Commission of India.

Secretariat, Chennai-600 009, 20th April 2009.

NARESH GUPTA,

Chief Electoral Officer and Additional Chief Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.